Her

I’m just going to copy/paste what I sent to my friend while I was watching this:  This movie keeps going from “lol” to “what” back to “lol” and then to “WHAT“.

I thought I enjoyed it, but I… I don’t know.  The only thing I am certain of is that it is unique.  Certainly worth a try, I suppose, but… what.

My husband’s review was “The thing I didn’t like about that movie is that they didn’t die in the end.”  So you might want to consider that, too.  (…spoilers?)

The premise is that a new operating system is invented that learns and tailors itself to become a companion to its user.  We follow the sad little life of a lonely divorcee who upgrades to the OS and, naturally, chooses the female option, only to start spending all his time with “her” (as does pretty much every other person who has one).  The OSes are programmed just a little bit too well, and start to gain autonomy and ask tough questions.

It’s great if you like artsy philosophy scenarios (I don’t…), fairly amusing from a nerd culture perspective (which is what I enjoyed the most, although I have often joked about my computer storming off in a huff and the concept of an OS that can actually do that is awful!), and contains a large number of incredibly awkward “sex” scenes that are kind of like watching someone have fucked up creepy phone sex.  Which is where most of the WHAT comes from.  It also moves pretty slowly and has a lot of talking which may or may not be at all interesting to you.  I actually wasn’t that bothered by it, but apparently my husband thought it came across as really whiny.  Viewer beware.

So I guess that’s a way of summing it up.  If you would like to watch someone whine about being lonely and then have creepy phone sex with a computer, oh boy have we got a movie for you!  If you find the philosophical themes interesting, you’ll probably enjoy it.

About tagracat
I am not a professional, I don't get paid to review shit, I am just opinionated and I seem to have some sort of disorder that results in spewing my opinions onto the internet. I enjoy writing long-winded posts about things and sometimes I like to pretend people want to read them, so a blog seemed an appropriate place to stuff it. But mostly I just like writing about things.

One Response to Her

  1. The trailer really got me into watching this. I liked it, and found it interesting. But the ending, yea, wished they all just dies.

Leave a Reply

