All is Lost

I don’t know if it’s because we watched Captain Philips recently, or if I just really like sea survival stories.  I didn’t know anything about All is Lost and yet I immediately wanted to see it when I saw “shipwreck” as a theme.  It is the story of a solo yacht owner who gets into distress out in the Indian ocean, and must rely on wits and resourcefulness to survive.

There is almost no dialogue in this film.  There are probably 20 words spoken throughout the whole thing – less if you only count “help” once.  I felt like it was really effective at enhancing the sense of isolation, and it really served to emphasize the despair when he uttered the inevitable “fffffuuuuuuUUUUCCCKKKK”.

My husband’s only critique was “In the beginning he was moving around like an old man and it was really starting to annoy me.”  You know what… I probably agree with that.  The movie starts off with him waking up to realize the yacht drifted into the corner of a lost shipping container (apparently filled with very unhelpful shoes.  Which is better than losing a crate full of illegal immigrants, I guess…). It punches a big hole in the hull.  He tries a few things and finally manages to unstick himself, but then he dodders around doing this and that, and every fifth scene it cuts back and gives us a shot of the gaping hole in the boat.  Over and over again.  Then he finally pulls out his patch kit and does a bit of patching, and then dodders around doing some other stuff like fiddling with completely soaked electronics and setting up the manual pumping mechanism to get the water out of the hull.  Cut to the hole in the boat again!  Yup, still there!  Oh now he’s patching it again!  …and now he’s doddering around again.
I don’t know, maybe he needed the fiberglass to set before we could continue patching?  It really wasn’t clear why fixing the giant hole in the hull seemed to be a lower priority than cracking open the busted radio.  Yes the radio is important because we need to call for help, I agree, but not having a giant hole in the hull seems like it should come first.  He spends a lot of time pumping out water, presumably to keep the boat from sinking too low and putting the hole under the water line… but shouldn’t you patch the hole and solve it that way?  Maybe this is why I do not own a yacht.

All of this patching, and then I’m not really sure what the purpose of that whole sequence was.  Ultimately, it seemed to me that the shipping container wasn’t even what led to his downfall.  He got himself out of that situation quite handily and then it was the storm that did the damage.  Was it that the container let in water which killed his electronics? (and for that matter, why isn’t all this very important shit in waterproof containers?  It is a boat.)  Well, the storm let in water too so they’d be fried anyway wouldn’t they?  Was it that the container used up all his patching supplies so there was nothing left to repair after the storm?  Okay, I’ll buy that.  But I also doubt you can fibreglass together a god damn mast, so it really doesn’t seem like that was the dealbreaker.  I dunno, it just seems like the movie is all focused on SHIPPING CONTAINER KILLS MAN, but then it wasn’t even the villain!  Poor misunderstood shipping container…

Aside from that, it was a pretty good movie.  Quite enjoyable, lots of tension to keep you awake and wondering what will happen next.  If you’re thinking of buying a yacht, this movie might be a good way to talk yourself out of it.

About tagracat
I am not a professional, I don't get paid to review shit, I am just opinionated and I seem to have some sort of disorder that results in spewing my opinions onto the internet. I enjoy writing long-winded posts about things and sometimes I like to pretend people want to read them, so a blog seemed an appropriate place to stuff it. But mostly I just like writing about things.

Leave a Reply

