Dredd

I feel a little guilty writing this “review” since I slept through about half of it (that is not a comment on the movie, I was just really tired).  During the time I was awake I did notice a few things I was going to comment on though.

First:  This movie would be a lot shorter if it ran at normal speed.
There is a drug called “Slow mo” that makes you feel like time is moving at 1% of it’s proper speed, so every time someone takes a hit, the movie slows down and does a bunch of artistic shit to illustrate.  And it goes on and on and onnnn and oooonnnnn.  It was a nice effect, but seriously.  We get it.

Second: I was pretty impressed with the actress who played “Ma”.  Then it turned out to be Lena Headey!  I was somewhat unimpressed with her in the earlier episodes of Game of Thrones, but she’s been kicking it up a notch in the more recent ones, so watching her kick ass here bodes well.  I officially apologize for making fun of her apparent inability to have more than one facial expression in GoT.  Although to be fair, I did miss probably most of her major scenes, so maybe she sucked in those.

Third: Somehow I recognized Karl Urban while only being able to see about 1/7th of his face, even though I couldn’t actually remember his name until the credits.  I’m not sure he had a chance to do much “acting” in this movie though.  Dredd says everything in a hoarse monotone (“I am Batman”) and with the helmet and armor on it could have been a stunt man for 99% of the movie for all we know.

Fourth: The plot is kind of dumb.  I mean, we’re not expecting high storytelling here… bullets fly, shit explodes, and everyone is happy.  But the whole “these guys are dealing drugs and we will do everything in our power to stop them!” spiel feels really shallow nowadays.  Maybe that’s the point – the world went to complete shit but the cops are too busy hunting down junkies to do anything useful – but it just didn’t click for me.  Meh.

If you’re looking for action and gunfights though, shit certainly does explode, and the marriage to super slow camera effects means you get to watch bullets rip through cheeks at about one frame every 20 minutes, so you won’t miss a thing.

I will also add my husband really seemed to enjoy it, so it’s too bad I couldn’t stay awake!

About tagracat
I am not a professional, I don't get paid to review shit, I am just opinionated and I seem to have some sort of disorder that results in spewing my opinions onto the internet. I enjoy writing long-winded posts about things and sometimes I like to pretend people want to read them, so a blog seemed an appropriate place to stuff it. But mostly I just like writing about things.

Leave a Reply

