Flowers for Algernon

Flowers for AlgernonFlowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Holy shit. That was amazing. I wish I could give it 6 stars. Or 10. Masterfully constructed and thought provoking. I don’t know how I managed to avoid reading this for so long… the title was familiar but I only vaguely knew of it, and then I was like “Oh hey I should read that.”

I’m not even going to disgrace it with a review. Just read it.

On another note, I also vaguely recalled that the book was famous for being banned, which is probably why I knew the name but not really the plot. I finished it and was like “…why was this banned???” so I had to go look. Banned for sexually explicit scenes! /facepalm.
This book has gone through so much strife while offering such a valuable story, when things like The Windup Girl (featuring self-indulgent graphic rape and slave fetish scenes that carry on much longer than they need to…) run around freely today. Kind of disgusting, really.
Although when I tried to see whether it was still currently banned, I did discover that in 2010 someone issued a challenge against the novelization of Star Wars: A New Hope, with no explanations attached. But not any of the other ones… hrm!

View all my reviews

About tagracat
I am not a professional, I don't get paid to review shit, I am just opinionated and I seem to have some sort of disorder that results in spewing my opinions onto the internet. I enjoy writing long-winded posts about things and sometimes I like to pretend people want to read them, so a blog seemed an appropriate place to stuff it. But mostly I just like writing about things.

Leave a Reply

