The Wee Free Men

The Wee Free Men (Discworld, #30) (Tiffany Aching, #1)The Wee Free Men (Discworld, #30) by Terry Pratchett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh my goodness. That was amazing. I can’t believe just how impressed I am. Perhaps I am just in the right frame of mind for it, but it really “hit the spot”.

I really like Pratchett, but I often find I can’t read too many of his books in a row (which is a problem because there are so many of them!). They kind of blur together and feel very samey. This book definitely had that Pratchett feel to it, but I haven’t read one in awhile so I enjoyed it immensely. He’s just so clever. How can the writing be so clever, and yet still be poignant?

I’m not even sure how to describe this book. It’s set in a sort of old English farmland setting with sheep and sheepdogs and whatnot (except set in Discworld, of course, but the overall Discworld setting has very little to do with the actual book aside from the inclusion of magic so it’s a good place to jump into things too, if you’re looking for one). The story follows little Tiffany Aching, who has decided she would like to be a witch. What’s interesting about this is that Tiffany is essentially a scientist, and what follows is a clash between the world of empirical observation and the land of fairytales, as Tiffany sets out on an adventure to rescue her little brother and learn a bit about herself in the process.

It was absolutely masterfully done.

I wish I could write like this…

I suppose if there were a complaint to be made, it would be that a vast majority of the book involves the antics of the Wee Free Men (shocking, considering the title!), who all speak with a thick accent. It could very easily be tedious to read through, but I had little trouble (perhaps because I just recently watched Brave, too) and actually found it to be quite animated and vivid, to the point where I could hear them quite clearly as I read. Thoroughly enjoyable.

View all my reviews

About tagracat
I am not a professional, I don't get paid to review shit, I am just opinionated and I seem to have some sort of disorder that results in spewing my opinions onto the internet. I enjoy writing long-winded posts about things and sometimes I like to pretend people want to read them, so a blog seemed an appropriate place to stuff it. But mostly I just like writing about things.

Leave a Reply

