The Last Policeman

The Last PolicemanThe Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Well that was a surprise. I’ve never considered myself a fan of the noir detective stuff, so I really only picked this up because of the “asteroid is hitting the Earth” angle.

The basis of the plot is that an asteroid is about to hit the Earth, killing all life where it lands and most likely resulting in the death of any life that survives since the various dust clouds and ejecta will probably destroy the ability of the sun to breach the atmosphere. The dates of the imminent collision are just being calculated, and society is starting to fall apart as people decide “fuck this” and go off to do whatever it is they decide they want to do in their final 6 months or so. For many people, this includes simply ending it now.
The book starts off with a detective attending yet another suicide scene, but something about it doesn’t sit right with him, and he starts to investigate it as a possible murder. Naturally, everyone else around him is like “…who the fuck cares? The world is ending.” but he keeps at it.

The book spent hardly any time talking about the asteroid (although it did a good job painting it as a background setting) and instead spent all its time doing the noir detective thing. Surprisingly, I enjoyed all of it. All the things that normally annoy me about noir detective stuff – choppy terse sentences, random swaps to dour and unnecessary descriptions, manly fist fights – I actually enjoyed all of it. Not enough to actually look into further noir stuff, but enough to give this book a decent rating. I rolled my eyes through the obligatory “I am investigating you but you are a dame so I am going to sleep with you now” stuff, but I suppose it was required for this style of story.

Worth a look, especially if you already like the noir style detective story.

View all my reviews

About tagracat
I am not a professional, I don't get paid to review shit, I am just opinionated and I seem to have some sort of disorder that results in spewing my opinions onto the internet. I enjoy writing long-winded posts about things and sometimes I like to pretend people want to read them, so a blog seemed an appropriate place to stuff it. But mostly I just like writing about things.

Leave a Reply

