Water for Elephants

Water for ElephantsWater for Elephants by Sara Gruen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow. I’m not even sure what to say. I read it all in one day and I only put it down once, which was to run to the pet store because the filter on our fish tank broke and the fish might die if I didn’t buy a part for it.

Probably the only thing I can say against it is that it’s a bit cliche, particularly in the romance department… but things become cliches because they are really good. There are some complaints about gratuitous sex scenes, and the thought that they were perhaps a bit unnecessarily detailed did cross my mind when they came up, but I decided to forgive it.

I was particularly impressed by the clarity of the writing. It really sucked me in and made everything vivid. At several points I thought “This is going to make an awesome movie”, but then we went and watched the movie afterward (I tagged this for both book and movie since I think it’s a fair comment on both) and… well… it wasn’t bad but they took all the best parts and condensed them for time (understandable I suppose), and stripped them of all subtlety, leaving it with nothing but an incredibly visible and un-subtle formulaic plot. The formula is right there in the book, too, but the writing and vividness of the book is what really made the story work. (And also the humour, which the movie seemed to completely lack. What an odd thing to strip for time…)

View all my reviews

About tagracat
I am not a professional, I don't get paid to review shit, I am just opinionated and I seem to have some sort of disorder that results in spewing my opinions onto the internet. I enjoy writing long-winded posts about things and sometimes I like to pretend people want to read them, so a blog seemed an appropriate place to stuff it. But mostly I just like writing about things.

Leave a Reply

